In most cases, the basic settings shown on the phone service editor screen will be sufficient to add a new phone service to your system. These settings are described below.

Phone Number field -- Caller ID Number to send when making outgoing calls. Many VoIP providers require that this value be set to your assigned telephone number 

Username field -- The username, if required, to access this phone service. Most VoIP services will require a username; you may have a separate Authentication Username as well, if so, see advanced settings 

Password field -- The password, if required, to access this phone service. Most VoIP services will require a password, and you should request a strong, random password from your provider 

Server field -- The Server which provides the service. VoIP service providers normally use a domain name as their published server (such as sip.example.com), internal services may use an IP address (such as 192.168.15.22) 

Advanced Settings link -- Displays additional configuration options for this phone service. See “Advanced Phone Services Settings” article for information on advanced settings.  

Test button -- Click Test to ensure that the phone system is able to connect to your VoIP provider using the details specified. 

Incoming calls for...Phone Number field -- The (precise) phone number to which your Phone Service Provider sends incoming calls. By default, this is set to “Any”, which will match all calls that are received from this phone service. The default setting should work for most phone service setups, and should only be changed if necessary. See “Incoming Call Settings” article for information on incoming call settings.  

Incoming calls for... Send To dropdown -- Where to send incoming calls received on this Phone Service. Normally you would choose your Auto Attendant, a secretarial user, or a Team with those people who handle incoming calls. By default, calls are directed to the built-in auto attendant. See “Incoming Call Settings” article for information on incoming call settings.  

Save button -- Click the orange Save button to save any changes that have been made to this phone service’s configuration. Changes are not active until they are published. See the “Publish Tab” article for more information on publishing changes. 

Delete button -- Click the Delete link to completely remove this phone service from your system. You will be prompted to confirm the deletion. Changes are not active until they are published. See the “Publish Tab” article for more information on publishing changes. Once changes are published, there is no way to restore a deleted phone service. 

Cancel link -- Discards any changes that have been made to this phone service’s configuration, and returns you to the default Phone Service tab screen without saving. You will not be prompted to confirm the cancellation. 

 

Did this answer your question?