In most cases, the basic settings shown on the person editor screen will be sufficient to add a new person to your system. These settings are described below.

Email Address field -- Email address used for both login and sending voicemail. 

Phone Extension field -- The short (2-6) series of digits used to reach this extension. 

First Name field -- First name of this person, used to provide Directory Assistance (dial by name) support. 

Last Name field -- Last name of this person, used to provide Directory Assistance (dial by name) support. 

Alternate Number field -- Alternate phone number to use as an external phone line. This person will be able to receive calls on this number as though it were an office phone. Note that two phone calls will occur, one for the incoming call and another for the call to the alternate number. Both calls will likely be billed to your Phone Services. 

Select Phones to Assign dropdown (Not relevant for Ryng Cloud PBX users) -- Assign phones to this extension. Multi-line office phones can be set up to use individual lines with different user or team accounts on the Phones page. Most users will need a phone line, whether an external phone (such as a mobile phone) or an office phone, however, special-purpose users can be set up who have no phones (their callers will be directed to voicemail immediately). 

Advanced Settings link - Displays additional configuration options for this person. See “Advanced People Settings” article for information on advanced settings. In most cases, filling out the advanced options is not required.  

Reset Password link -- Sends an email to this person that includes a link for resetting their password. The address specified in the Email Address field will receive the email. 

Resend Welcome Message link -- Re-sends the welcome email to this person that includes instructions for logging into the Ryng Cloud user portal. The address specified in the Email Address field will receive the email. 

Person’s Profile View -- Switches the interface to show what it looks like for this person when they log into the Ryng Cloud user portal. Non-administrative users can only see their own settings, have certain advanced options hidden, and also have buttons that they can use to record their outgoing voicemail greetings. See the “User Portal” article for more information on the Ryng Cloud user portal.  

Save button -- Click the orange Save button to save any changes that have been made to this person’s configuration. Changes are not active until they are published. See the “Publish Tab” article for more information on publishing changes. 

Delete link -- Click the Delete link to completely remove this person from your system. You will be prompted to confirm the deletion. Changes are not active until they are published. See the “Publish Tab” article for more information on publishing changes. Once changes are published, there is no way to restore a deleted person.  

Cancel link -- Discards any changes that have been made to this person’s configuration, and returns you to the default People tab screen without saving. You will not be prompted to confirm the cancellation. 

Did this answer your question?